Thomas Mann

Thomas Mann was born in Naumburg/Saale on 28th January 1946. After his training to become an industrial business management assistant, he was active as a copywriter and creative director in advertising agencies for 20 years. As a member of the Junge Union (youth wing of the Christian Democratic Union) he was their chairman in the Frankfurt council for four years. From 1975 until 1979, he was federal chairman of the Young Employees as well as member of the German Council of the Junge Union.


He was city councillor in Schwalbach at the Taunus from 1985 until1998; he has been district chairman of the CDA Untermain since 1977. In the Europa Union, he has been chairman of Main-Taunus district since 1995, chairman of Hesse Union since 1998, and vice federal chairman since 2003.

In 1994 he became a member of the European Parliament and in 2004, vice-president of the committee for employment and social affairs. He also belongs to the committee for economics and monetary affairs and to the delegation for the relations to the countries of South Asia. He has been president of the Tibet Intergroup of the European Parliament since 1999. In 2002 he was awarded the Order of Merit of the Federal Republic of Germany due to his commitment for human rights and his social-political commitment.